Intro – Building A Trip To Singapore And Thailand Around A Major Devaluation

Intro – Building A Trip To Singapore And Thailand Around A Major Devaluation
Part 1: Getting To Singapore The Long Way
Part 2: The Singapore Do
Part 3: Tumultuous Thailand – Bangkok, Koh Samui, Koh Lanta, And Krabi
Part 4: At Long Last – My Ride Home Up Front In Singapore Suites

IMG_0689

 

I often plan trips around major events, experiences, or aspirational flights and hotel properties.  Given that the Conrad Koh Samui was on my hotel bucket list of places to visit, when Hilton announced a major devaluation in the Hilton Honors program mid February, 2013 , I set about working a trip around a stay.

There was a frequent flyer meetup mid January in Singapore, so I decided to book a four night stay at the Conrad Singapore on an AXON award, attend the festivities, then move  on  to Koh Samui to stay at the beautiful Conrad property there.  I would then move to Koh Lanta, an island I’d wanted to return to ever since stopping there for the day on a previous sailboat trip up the coast of Thailand.

Asian airlines have some of the best first class products around, so I had a lot of options.  First class suites on both Asiana and Singapore Airlines were on my bucket list, so I immediately started looking for award space – which amazingly, I eventually found.   I was also able to sprinkle in a few IHG hotel stays, getting me closer to the completion of my Big Win promo.  I was all set!

NEXT – Part 1:  Getting To Singapore The Long Way

Leave a Reply

