Part 3: Stunning Seychelles – Praslin And La Digue

IMG_20140327_062807

Intro – An African Safari With A Little Seychelles Sprinkled In
Part 1: Getting To The Seychelles Via Dubai
Part 2: A Soggy Stopover In Dubai
Part 3: Stunning Seychelles – Praslin And La Digue
Part 4: Stunning Seychelles – Mahe Island
Part 5: Kilimanjaro Bound
Part 6: Tanzania – Beginning The Adventure At The Arusha Coffee Lodge
Part 7: Game Drives in Ngorongoro, Ndutu, Serengetti, Lake Manyara, And Tarangire

 

My flight to Mahe left on time, though I wouldn’t be riding on an A380 this time.  The 777  was definitely an older plane, and even though J seats were angled lie flat, most weren’t working properly.  This made for an amusing game of musical chairs amongst the passengers, and ultimately a relatively uncomfortable flight on what was essentially a red eye.  I took a peek in the F section and it was empty!

IMG_0068
First Class Suites On The 777

Even so, we arrived safely and on time.  I collected my bags and made my way through immigration, and to the domestic terminal situated about a 2 minute walk away.   I would be taking an intra-island flight to Praslin Island before returning 3 days later to enjoy some ultra luxe time on Mahe.

IMG_0261
My Ride To Praslin

Even though there is a ferry between the two islands, I love taking small intra-island flights whenever I can for the uniqueness of the ride and the stunning views.  The cost was essentially the same in this case.

IMG_0271

A short 15 minutes later, we arrived on Praslin Island where I picked up the rental car I had reserved.  Public transport is infrequent and unreliable on this small island, so even though the driving was a bit treacherous, it was worthwhile to have the car.

I had booked a 35 Euro / night guest house for the 2 nights I would be there, but when I arrived the owner had mistakenly double booked.   So she immediately got on the phone and secured me other accommodations at the same discounted price, which were central, clean and perfectly comfortable.  One of the first of a series of amazing gestures from the warm and welcoming locals I encountered.

IMG_0113
Main Drag In Small Town ‘Cote d’Or, Praslin
IMG_0204
Friendly Local

The island is beautiful.  White sand beaches as far as you can see, with friendly and helpful locals and not too terribly overrun with tourists.

IMG_0117
Beautiful Praslin Island Beach

I decided to take a ferry to La Digue, a small island with a population of around 2000.  Upon arrival, bike rentals were plentiful and for about 10 euros, available to use to explore the island for the day.

IMG_0120
Ferry To La Digue

I didn’t think the beaches could get any prettier.

IMG_0155
La Digue Island Local Sorting Out Fishing Nets
IMG_0178
Deserted Beach On La Digue

There were a lot of cute guest house accommodations on the island, and the primary form of transport is by bicycle or by ox driven cart!

IMG_0161IMG_0171

I truly loved the laid back and tranquil atmosphere of La Digue and wished I’d had more time there.  I took the afternoon ferry back to Praslin, spent a few more hours driving around the island, then prepared for my flight back to Mahe, where I’d spend the next three nights at the Hilton Northolme.

NEXT:  Part 4 – Stunning Seychelles – Mahe

 

Leave a Reply

