Intro: Two New European Cities And The Hamburg Do

IMG_20140510_103551

Intro: Two New European Cities And The Hamburg Do
Part 1: Luxurious Layovers – The Amex Centurion Lounge And Lufthansa First Class Terminal
Part 2: Springtime In Amsterdam
Part 3: The Hamburg Do
Part 4: Dublin And The Ride Home

Hanging out with other like minded frequent flyers and fellow AV Geeks is always a good time.  So traveling to Hamburg for a weekend ‘do’ (a gathering of like minded travelers) was something I quickly signed on for, especially since it included special VIP visits to Airbus and Lufthansa Technik.  With many European destinations still on my ‘to see’ list, I got busy building a trip around the event.

I hadn’t ever been to Amsterdam, and with three Club Carlson hotels in town, expensive springtime  hotel rates wouldn’t be an issue.  I booked two nights at the swanky Art’otel, and another two at the Radisson Blu, both with the second night free bonus compliments of the Club Carlson visa.

United had just announced an upcoming major devaluation, primarily affecting redemptions for partner awards, so I found and booked Lufthansa business award space on a flight to AMS through DFW, affording me a visit to the brand new Amex Centurion lounge.

A good portion of ‘do’ attendees were staying at the Park Hyatt Hamburg, and after transferring Ultimate Rewards points to my Hyatt account, I too booked a three night stay at 15k per night.

There was plentiful business class award space home on USAir from Dublin, another place I’d never been, providing an opportunity to tap into  my overflowing stash of AA miles, while at the same time trying out US Envoy Class service.  I was all set.

That is until Lufthansa first class award space opened up two weeks prior to departure!  I gladly parted with the $100 change fee and additional 17.5k UA miles (pre-deval rates, thanks to booking early!) for a ride up front and a five hour layover in the Lufthansa First Class Terminal before my short onward flight to Amsterdam.  NOW I was really set!

NEXT –  Luxurious Layovers:  The Amex Centurion Lounge And Lufthansa First Class Terminal

Leave a Reply

