Part 4: Dublin And The Ride Home

Intro: Two New European Cities And The Hamburg Do
Part 1: Luxurious Layovers – The Amex Centurion Lounge And Lufthansa First Class Terminal
Part 2: Springtime In Amsterdam
Part 3: The Hamburg Do
Part 4: Dublin And The Ride Home

To get to Dublin, I booked a paid flight on SAS via Copenhagen.  After a short layover at CPH,  I was en route to the Radisson Blu Royal, Dublin on the airport bus.

IMG_1420
Radisson Blu Dublin Entrance

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the nearest airport bus stop, but my ultra friendly bus driver made sure I knew the way, actually stepping out of the bus to point me in the right direction.

IMG_1421
Lobby At Radisson Blu Dublin

Breakfast was included at this particular Radisson, and it was a pretty good spread.

IMG_1369
Breakfast Spread At Radisson Blu Royal Dublin

The hotel is well located, rooms are basic, clean and comfortable, but the best part was scoring two nights at the 300+ euro per night property for one 50k Club Carlson points redemption (2nd night free with the CC visa benefit.) With my limited time in the city,  I immediately headed out to do some exploring.

IMG_20140513_124244
Christ Church Cathedral Dublin

Dublin isn’t too terribly big, and like most European cities, is very walk able.  The hotel is pretty central to most of the things in the city.

IMG_1363

Even though I’m not a huge consumer, the Guiness brewery is something that should be experienced when in the city. The museum is surprisingly well organized, interesting and after the tour, you get to sample the goods for free!

IMG_20140513_130621

 

IMG_1355

My final day, I decided to venture a bit outside of the city to see the beautiful coastline on an itinerary an Irish friend had mapped out for me.  I secured a late checkout at the Radisson, and hopped on the Dart train, my destination for the journey being the cute towns if Killiney and Dalkey.

IMG_1415

The ride along the coastline was beautiful, even if it was a little overcast.

IMG_20140514_104646

I overshot Dalkey by one stop and got off at the Killiney station, so as to be able to walk along the coastline and through Killiney Hill Park en route to Dalkey.  It was beautiful.

IMG_20140514_112136IMG_1396

It was nice to get out of the city and see a little of small town Ireland.

IMG_1412 IMG_1413

After a lovely five hour excursion, I caught the train back to Dublin, and headed back to the hotel to check out and catch the airport bus to DUB.

IMG_1426

Since my flight the next morning was early, I decided to redeem 20k Hilton Honors points for a stay at the airport Hilton my final night.  The hotel needs some updating, but at a reasonable 20k per night points redemption, it’s good option for an overnight.  I was given a huge suite during my one night stay.IMG_1422

Dublin is one of a handful of airports that has a US pre-clearance facility.  For those with global entry, this is more of a nuisance than anything since boarding is called two hours early, and there are no lounges after clearance.

IMG_20140515_101001

Beyond a couple of domestic short hauls, I had never really flown US Airways.  So I was excited to try their international Envoy Class service.

IMG_20140515_110430

I was pleasantly surprised by how spacious and comfortable the fully reclining seats are.  The flight attendants could not have been more wonderful.

IMG_20140515_112603

Even the food was pretty decent!

IMG_1435

Overall a really nice product and great use of AA miles.  After a short layover in Philly, I was on my way home to LAX.

 

Leave a Reply

