Intro – Two Premium Flying Experiences On A Second Visit To Africa

IMG_1648

Intro – Two Premium Flying Experiences On A Second Visit To Africa
Part 1: Getting To Mauritius On My New Favorite Airline
Part 2: Spending Time In Southern Africa – Mauritius
Part 3: Spending Time In Southern Africa – Cape Town
Part 4: Spending Time In Southern Africa – Zambia
Part 5: The Long Luxurious Ride Home

Having not yet experienced the Emirates flying shower on the super luxe Airbus 380, I set about organizing a second trip to Africa, this time focusing on some of the areas in Southern Africa that I missed last trip.  A visit to Mauritius via Dubai would allow for two segments on the super sexy jumbo, with a free stopover in Dubai.  I located first class award space for both segments around two months out, and locked it in using 100k Alaska miles.  I then set about organizing a trip around the experience.

Mauritius is a beautiful and very popular resort island in the Indian Ocean, close to Madagascar.  There are many lodging options ranging from super luxurious to backpackers, and they really aren’t that expensive.  My first choice, the Hilton Flic en Flac was in the middle of a refurbishment, so I used precious SPG points to book a five night stay at the Le Meriden Ile Maurice.  The fifth night is always free on award stays, which made the cost per night 5600 points.  Not bad.

I then booked an onward flight to Cape Town, South Africa (via Johannesburg) in business class using 35k United miles on South African Airways.  My hotel for the stay would be The Hilton Cape Town, using a points and cash award to stack with an Amex $50 off promo.

My final stop would be in Livingstone, Zambia via a paid flight on BA (CPT – JNB – LVI) to explore the Victoria Falls area before heading home on a super sweet British Airways / AA itin, including first class rides on the BA a380 from Johannesburg to London, 747 from London to JFK, and a seat in first on the new AA a321 three cabin service JFK – LAX route.   The four segment award was 100k AA miles, and around $800 in taxes and fuel surcharges.  I wasn’t too excited about the high BA fuel surcharges and Heathrow taxes, but given the routing and quality of the planes I’d be flying, it was well worth it.  I was all set.

NEXT –  Part 1:  Getting To Mauritius On My New Favorite Airline

Leave a Reply

